Erykah Badu’s Bag Lady Taught me how to live my life

I haven’t done this in a long time: WELCOME TO MUSIC REVIEW WEDNESDAY!! This review is different from the past. I decided that I’ll start choosing music that I like (of course) and have made an impact in my life.  This week I bring you Bag Lady by Erykah Badu:

Excerpt: 

Bag lady you gone hurt your back /

Dragging all them bags like that /

I guess nobody ever told you / All you must hold onto, is you, is you, is you

At first glance, the song is about a woman who carry’s too much stuff, and Queen Erykah is letting her know that carrying all that weight isn’t good for her, because she can hurt herself. When you take a deeper look, it’s sort of saying, the woman carries her hurt, pain, her burdens, and all the unknown with her. She carry’s all these unnecessary things because she thinks she needs it but in reality, it’s hurting her and it’s pulling her back. My sister says if you keep carrying all your burden’s you’ll miss your blessings and that’s basically what this woman is doing. That’s what most of us do, we carry  struggles with us and often times we become our struggles. I’m not saying, forget what you’ve been through(it’s a part of who you are) but as Erykah says: One day all them bags gone get in your way and as someone who used to carry all these “bags” of fear and struggle and doubt, I can testify that you only hurt yourself in the long run.  I also want to add, the video is shot so beautifully and intimate-the women are gorgeous and kind of symbolize Angels or a helping hand (my interpretation) and it’s so artistic

My favorite part of the song is almost middle/end and the actual end, she say’s Pack Light and

If you start breathin
Then you won’t believe it
You’ll feel so much better

Ends this story with a release:

Bag lady, hmm
Let it go, let it go, let it go, let it go
Girl you don’t need that, hmm

At the end, she say’s be free, which is what we’re all looking for. Freedom.

Thank you for visiting my blog, check out the video below and let me know what you think as well as, tell me what songs inspire you.

 

Leave a Reply

