Music That Inspires Series p. 1

Wednesday Music Series:

The thing that I love about music is… it inspires you to strive for more, comforts you when you’re down, and just lets you feel free.

When I’m lost, confused, or I just feel like nothing is going right in my life; I listen to Keane. I love this band, most people know them for their hit Somewhere Only We Know, which is an amazing song, but for me “Untitled” and “Try Again” are my go to songs.  The titles are basically a summary of the lyrics.

Untitled 1- 2004, (Hope and Fear album)

With it’s melancholic beat and smooth real-time tells a tale of losing and confusion; The metaphorical lyrics fit so well-reminds me of one those nightmarish fairy tales. It expresses the feeling of hopelessness. Every time I listen to this song, I feel like I am not alone, someone understands what I am going through. By the end of the song, you feel a sense of peace, like it’s okay of you’re lost now, everything will fine later on.

 

Try Again- 2007, (Under The Inron Sea Album)

Try again also has that melancholic feel, but has a stronger tempo and  its lyrics are so passionate. It’s kind of a love letter to oneself.  When I first this song, I was so exhausted with life-I felt so drained, I had no power left in me, but after this song I felt like I could go on. When I heard the song again last year the lyrics ” What I was isn’t what I am” resonated with me so much. I had become a different person. The reason I love this song is because it inspires me to be better.  I hope when you listen to this song you’re able to push through whatever you’re going through.

 

Thank you for visiting and I hope you enjoy. Happy Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

