Having More Than One Dream

Follow my blog with Bloglovin
On this sunny, but windy day in Texas I asked myself—Is it okay to have more than one dream? I mean, can I really do and become everything I want? my_many_dreams_by_shuie

Maya Angelo was a writer, actress, activist, and everything under the sun; if she can do it so can I. Or can I? I don’t know, it’s like, society or maybe me, has put it in my head that I am meant to do one thing and one thing only, I am meant to like on subject, work in one field, and just leave my life doing one thing for the rest of my life. That is pretty scary! Does that mean, if I like Math I can only do the things related to math?!!

I want to write, I want to explore the world and build a house, maybe join the sanitation movement, protest about better wages, dance at Madison Square Garden, implement legislation. Basically, I want to do a lot of things, yes, I have a degree in Political Science and also, Social Justice and Human Rights (which sounds way more scary than it actually is), but that doesn’t mean I don’t have skills in other areas or I don’t want to explore other ventures.

When I was a kid, I wanted to be an inventor, Marie Curie, Xena:The Warrior Princess, I also wanted to make clothes, and be the ruler of Mars. But as I’ve gotten older, I had to start thinking practically and face reality-which can sometimes put a downer on your dreams, but it doesn’t have to. There are so many people who are living out their childhood dreams and so many people who have more than one dream or goal who are doing what they love, are great at, and do well in.

So… Can you have more than one dream? Yes, and just like everything else, you’ve got to work hard to get and maintain it. Now, if you will excuse you, I’m going to learn how to make storytelling videos and watch Xena online.

HAPPY FRIDAY!

 

5 Replies to “Having More Than One Dream”

Leave a Reply

